Week 9 – Quiz reflection

I felt a little overwhelmed when I read this week’s English for Journalists’ chapter (Hicks 2013, pp. 73-92).

A lot of the mistakes mentioned in the text were ones that I knew I had made myself in the past, particularly those concerning commas.

I was disheartened when I clicked on the button to take the quiz because I was convinced that I would do badly.

Surprisingly though, I got 100% on my first try.

quiz-result

I was pleased with my result as it means that I have been learning from our readings each week and not just letting the information go in one ear and out the other.

This was the second week in a row that I scored 100% on my first quiz attempt.

It left me feeling a lot more confident about my English skills than I had a few weeks ago.


References

Download 2015, graphic, Hello Giggles, viewed 14 September 2016, http://hellogiggles.com/23-things-to-be-happy/

Hicks, W 2013, English for journalists: twentieth anniversary edition, Routledge, Abingdon, Oxon.

One thought on “Week 9 – Quiz reflection

  1. Hi Taylor,

    Nice work with your quiz! I have some feedback for you.

    You wrote,

    I felt a little overwhelmed when I read this week’s English for Journalists’ chapter (Hicks 2013, pp. 73-92).

    Better as,

    I felt a little overwhelmed when I read Chapter 6 – Punctuation, English for Journalists (Hicks 2013, pp. 73-92).

    You wrote,

    A lot of the mistakes mentioned in the text were ones that I knew I had made myself in the past, particularly those concerning commas.

    Better as,

    A lot of the mistakes mentioned in the text were ones that I made in the past, particularly those concerning commas.

    You wrote,

    I was pleased with my result as it means that I have been learning from our readings each week and not just letting the information go in one ear and out the other.

    Better as,

    I was pleased with my result because it reflects my learning from the readings each week. I’m not letting the information go in one ear and out the other.

    You wrote,

    It left me feeling a lot more confident about my English skills than I had a few weeks ago.

    Better as,

    It left me feeling a lot more confident about my English skills compared to a few weeks ago.

    Hope that helps 🙂

    Cheers, Mike.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

