Week 10 – Quiz reflection

Well, I started this week’s quiz feeling quite confident that I was going to get 100% like I did last week.

How wrong I was.

Question five really stumped me:

quiz-result

I spent a good few minutes staring at the question, thinking surely it was a trick.

I thought options C and D were both incorrect.

I couldn’t find anywhere in our reading (Hicks 2013, pp. 73-92) that mentioned ‘es’ being acceptable pluralisation for words ending in ‘s’.

So, I wrongly assumed that option D had a typo in it, and that option C was the incorrectly punctuated sentence.

I’m still a bit confused about the question’s answer so if anyone could help me out, I would be grateful.


References

Confused 2014, digital image, Feed Your Soul, viewed 24 September 2016, http://feedyoursoul.com/2014/08/06/the-gift-of-confusion/

Hicks, W 2013, English for journalists: twentieth anniversary edition, Routledge, Abingdon, Oxon.

4 thoughts on “Week 10 – Quiz reflection

  1. Hi Taylor,

    Great reflection on your quiz ! I however got this question wrong as well. I believe option B should actually be the correct answer, as with names that end in an “S”, there should be an apostrophe at the end of it. I agree that there was a mistake there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Janet,

      I’m glad someone else got this question wrong.

      I looked everywhere in the textbook to see where ‘es’ was an appropriate way of pluralising a word ending in ‘s’ and couldn’t find it.

      Cheers,

      Taylor

      Like

Leave a Reply

